Home

Tuesday, 7 July 2015 / 2 Comments

Chasing Chris Campbell by Genevieve Gannon

Title: Chasing Chris Campbell
Author: Genevieve Gannon
Publisher: Harper Collins
Date of Publication: June 1st 2015
Source: Review copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley

Blurb:


The hilarious and charming second novel from the author of Husband Hunters. For fans of The Rosie Project, Forgetting Sarah Marshall and all good rom-coms. 

Violet is saving money: living on rice and beans and denying herself chocolate eclairs all in the name of saving for a home deposit. Once they save enough, she and Michael can buy a house, settle down and live happily ever after. But when Michael does the unthinkable, Violet is forced to rethink her life choices. 

 A chance encounter with Chris Campbell (first love, boy-next-door, The One That Got Away) spurs her into travelling to exotic locations she never dreamed she'd explore - Hong Kong, Vietnam, Varanasi - on a quest to catch up with Chris and lead a life of adventure. Armed with hand sanitiser and the encouraging texts of her twin sister Cassandra, will Violet find true love before it's too late? Or will the nerve-wracking experience of travelling send her back to Melbourne in search of safety and stability? Can she work out what she really wants before she is left with nothing?


Review:

Violet and her boyfriend Michael have spent five years scrimping and saving so they can buy a house. Going without even the smallest luxury, Violet is outraged when Michael spends several thousand dollars of their savings on a motorbike that he can’t even ride. Feeling the need to be equally reckless, she books a ticket to Hong Kong, looking for Chris Campbell – the one that got away. What follows is the kind of adventure that mild-mannered Violet could never have imagined, including 2nd degree burns, a case of dysentery, and possibly meeting the man of her dreams.


What I loved: The descriptions of the places Violet travelled and the characters she met along the way, particularly Harry. Violet grows as a person, becoming an independent and confident woman who makes her own choices, rather than relying on others.

What I didn’t love: There were times when I just wanted to slap Violet. She put herself into some dangerous situations where she was incredibly vulnerable. Having travelled by myself I’m very aware of how important it is to be aware of your surroundings and to keep yourself safe.


Chasing Chris Campbell is a cute, undemanding read for those who enjoy contemporary romantic comedy. 

Related Posts

2 comments:

  1. It sounds like a really sweet and funny read. I really might give it a try, but after I'm over my huuuge TBR XD Lovely review <3

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Never ending TBRs are a problem, but a lovely one. Thanks for stopping by :)

      Delete

Have you read this book or any other good books lately? If so let me know what you think...

About

About

Subscribe

Latest Posts

Instagram

Photo Profile
Taylor Wong Architecture Designer

The Japanese call it Hanakotoba, and King Charles II brought it to Sweden from Persia in the 17th century. Read More

Labels

Follow @Instagram